No. Your organization would define the content and scope of spiritual and other assessments and the qualifications of the individual(s) performing the assessment. Examples of elements that could be but are not required in a spiritual assessment include the following questions directed to the patient or his/her family:

· Who or what provides the patient with strength and hope?

· Does the patient use prayer in their life?

· How does the patient express their spirituality?

· How would the patient describe their philosophy of life?

· What type of spiritual/religious support does the patient desire?

· What is the name of the patient's clergy, ministers, chaplains, pastor, rabbi?

· What does suffering mean to the patient?

· What does dying mean to the patient?

· What are the patient's spiritual goals?

· Is there a role of church/synagogue in the patient's life?

· How does your faith help the patient cope with illness?

· How does the patient keep going day after day?

· What helps the patient get through this health care experience?

· How has illness affected the patient and his/her family?

The requirements that address spiritual needs and practices are found in the accreditation manual.  For example:

· PC.02.02.13 addresses providing care, to the extent possible, that accommodates spiritual needs during end-of-life care

· RI.01.01.01 addresses patient's right to access religious and other spiritual services

Your organization's Accreditation Coordinator has access to the manual containing these requirements.